P.O. Box 12641
Tel : +977-1-422 4564
Cell + Viber : +977 - 98 510 70943
Mobile : +977 - 98 132 70943
Skype : komal.aryal
WeChat : Komal_Aryal
Home Nepal - Travel Tips

Visa System & Entry / Exit points


Visa System & Entry / Exit Points (Nepal)

All visitors except the Indian nationals must hold valid visa for Nepal. Visa can be obtained on arrival in Nepal or at the Nepalese Embassy and diplomatic missions and consulates abroad. Visa is also issued at the entry points (see below). It can be extended at the Department of Immigration, Maitighar, Kathmandu. Children under 10 years need not pay any visa fee. People willing to get entry Visa at the airport or any of the entry points (by road) are required to fill a visa form with passport photograph. It is also adviced to download the form from the link below and get ready while you are passing through the immigration Point.

Entry / Exit Point of Nepal
  1. Tribhuvan International Airport (TIA), Kathmandu
  2. Kakarvitta, Jhapa (Eastern Nepal, border -West Bengal, India)
  3. Birgunj, Parsa (Central Nepal, border -Bihar, India)
  4. Kodari, Sindhupalchowk (Central Nepal, border -Tibet, China)
  5. Belahia, Bhairahawa (Western Nepal, border -Uttar Pradesh, India)
  6. Jamunaha, Nepalgunj (Mid-Western Nepal, border -Uttar Pradesh, India)
  7. Mahana, Dhangadhi (Far-Western Nepal, border -Uttar Pradesh India)
  8. Gaddachauki, Mahendranagar (Far-Western Nepal, border -Uttara-khanda, India)
Tourist Visa

Multiple Visa

15 days
US$ 25 or equivalent convertible currency

Multiple Visa

30 days
US$ 40 or equivalent convertible currency

Multiple Visa

90 days
US$ 100 or equivalent convertible currency
Tourist Visa Extension
  • Visa extension fee for 15 days or less is US $ 30 or equivalent convertible currency and visa extension fee for more than 15 days is US$ 2 per day.
  • Tourist visa can be extended for a maximum period of 150 days in a single visa year (January – December).
Free Visa
  • Free visa for 30 days available only for tourists of SAARC (South Asian Association of Regional Cooperation) countries.
  • Indian nationals do not require visa to enter into Nepal. But advice to bring authorised & valid Government card (like election card etc).
Transit Visa
Transit visa for one day can be obtained from Nepal's immigration offices at the entry points upon the production of departure flight ticket via Tribhuvan International Airport in Nepal, by paying US $ 5 or equivalent convertible currency.
For further information : Department of Immigration, Maitighar, Kathmandu, Tel : +977-1-4223590 / 4222453 / 4221996, web site: www.immi.gov.np can be contacted.
Visa Application hour : 10AM - 03 PM (Sunday to Thursday) & 10AM - 01 PM (Friday).

Note : Government of Nepal gives on arrival visa to all nationalities expect following countries:

  1. Nigeria
  2. Ghana
  3. Zimbabwe
  4. Swaziland
  5. Cameroon
  6. Somalia
  7. Liberia
  8. Ethiopia
  9. Iraq
  10. Palestine
  11. Afghanistan